Skip to main navigation.

75th Annual Meeting of Members

Mark your calendar for the 2014 Annual Meeting

Jo-Carroll Energy celebrates 75 years of service!

All members of Jo-Carroll Energy are invited to attend the 75th Annual Meeting of Members on Saturday, April 5 at the Chadwick-Milledgeville Junior High School, 15 School St., in Chadwick.

Prior to the meeting we will serve a continental breakfast of pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Our 75th Anniversary video featuring members, former employees and directors and the cooperative's history will be shown prior to the meeting.

At the business meeting, members will hear presentations from board chairman David Senn and President and CEO Michael Hastings. Members will vote on bylaw amendments and learn the results of the 2014 board election. Directors in two districts where elections were not contested will be elected by vote of acclamation.

The morning event also features displays and exhibits about many cooperative services and products.

Make sure to bring the registration card from this year's Annual Report (mailed in March) to the meeting. Registration cards for all members attending the meeting are entered into a drawing in which we'll be giving way 10 $25 bill credits, four $50 bill credits and a free  home energy audit ($300 value). Members must be present to win.

In honor of our 75th Anniversary, a special celebration is planned for June 21 in Elizabeth. Look for details at the annual meeting and on our website.

Three board seats up for election

Democratic member control is the second guiding principle that cooperatives follow. Your Jo-Carroll Energy board of directors is elected by the membership. Cooperative members have equal voting rights—one member, one vote.

Members who live in districts where the director is up for election receive a special mailing in late March that contains a ballot for the board election. All members will receive the 2013 Annual Report. You will receive a ballot only if you live in one of the three districts with elections this year: Districts 3, 6 and 9. Profiles of the candidates are published in the annual report and in the April Hi-Lines.

A bylaw change approved in 2011 provides that ballots are mailed only to members in districts where more than one candidate has been nominated. In districts with only one candidate, election will be by a motion of acclamation at the annual meeting.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo